But is it meant to (B)e ?

Then:

“No,no, no!! Jessie, how could you let this happen?”

He was cute, but man did he have a short attention span and a horrible memory.

Jessie was different from most of the guys I would normally date. Most of my friends really didn’t “get” it. My girlfriend Patty summed up what everyone said, one way or another. “He’s just so average. I mean, he is kinda bald and fat. You could do so much better, Brenna.”

I had responded; “It’s what inside that counts. Besides, he treats me like a Queen.”

Well, he usually did anyway. I was in shock that this was happening right now. I just glared at him right now, scanning his face and waiting for some kind of acceptable excuse.

“I’m so sorry, bae.”

I had had told him that all I wanted for Valentine’s Day was Vampire weekend tickets. Now, months later; he tells me he forgot to buy them. The show is sold out.

I’m like, beyond mad. “I can’t EVEN, right NOW!!!” I shout at him as he tries to console me, putting his arm around my neck and attempting to kiss me and caress my hair. I push him away, cross my arms, and pout.

“Ugh…Fine.” Jessie grumbles and pull out his smart phone. The latest and greatest iPhone, complete with Otterbox. He scrolls and continues to grumble. “$175 for two tickets? C’mon…cupcake. We could do some much other great stuff with that money.”

I glare at him, my arms still crossed.

“You are so difficult!” he huffs. “Let’s just hope we don’t get swindled. Tori and Drake got dicked over by some dude on StubHub when they tried to go see Skrillex and ended up watching the show through the gate.”

“Well maybe next time SOMEONE won’t forget what the only thing that will make me happy is.”

Jessie just rolls his eyes and pulls out his credit card.

I smile and kiss him on the cheek.

Now:

We pay to park and pull back into our spot so we can enjoy some beers. Jessie’s “joke” about this being sketchy was real cute, until the situation really got that way. First, the dude wanted to meet in the worst side of town at a place called “The Pink Beaver”.  Joke or not, that is fucking gross. Finally after a lot of weird phone calls and texts, Jessie talked this dude into meeting us at the show. Trina and Mark already had their tickets, so we rode with them and enjoyed tailgating until just before the show. It was about that time, so we guzzled down the last of our Sierra Nevada’s and headed up to the main gate. Jessie had told me we were looking for a “really tall guy in a Chicago Bulls hat”. That’s not vague at all.

We waited, and waited.
I started to get more irritated and anxious before finally asking Jessie why the hell he does this all the time.

“What? I did exactly what you wanted. Bought you overpriced tickets to see a shitty band I don’t even like. Because you are a fucking spoiled brat who can’t ever let anything go. ”

“Are you fucking kidding me?!”

“Not even close. I even agreed to meet this shady fuck to make you happy. I hope he isn’t some insane serial killer that tries to gut me and then do god knows what to you.”

“GAWD! You are such a dick! You can’t even remember to do a simple thing for me and then blame me for YOU making a huge mistake and acting like you don’t give a SHIT about me.”

“And seriously?? A serial killer!! You know I’m freaked out about this whole thing… So you go and say that?! What the hell is WRONG with you?”

Jessie just rolls his eyes. “You are always so over dramatic.”

I’m seething at this point. I’m so mad, I’m shaking. He always does this. He says the worst, most negative thing in the world; just teetering on being abusive. He makes me feel like shit when he is the one who fucked up. I go with him to see his awful,  shit-tastic screamo bands that he likes. I go hang out with his friends who barely speak to me and act like I’m some kind of snob because I don’t like to go hunting and camping. I spend way too long to do my hair and make up so he can show me off to his dumpy friends and act the “Man” when in reality, my friends are all right about the situation. I realized that I am lowering myself in dating him, at least esthetically. I tried to “see the person inside” and not focus on that; but lately that “person on the inside” is just an asshole. I wonder if he always was, but I was just too enamored with someone spoiling me and giving me ridiculous compliments to notice.

At first, he did everything I asked.  It was great. He constantly told me how hot he thought I was. How smart. How amazing. He acted like I was the only person in the world. But now, all the shiny newness of the relationship had worn off. The compliments became backhanded.  We were growing to a point where all we did was argue and making excuses not to hang out with each other.

As my brain continues spiraling between anger,  frustration, and a solid “How much longer can I take this?” question I knew I would soon have to answer;  Jessie is scanning the crowd for the tall guy. Finally, I spot him. He looks like any other kid who would be here to see the show.

“There he is;” I say as I point him out.  “Go get our overpriced tickets.”

He does it. They exchange cash to computer print offs. He waits for the guy to walk away before returning to me.

“I hope you’re fucking happy. That shit cost me almost a car payment.”

I scowl at him.

“You aren’t in the clear, yet. Let’s see if these actually work.”

We walk up to the security guards and scan the bar code.

It doesn’t beep.

BrennaSignature2

Leave a comment